Hindu God Shiva



The Hindu Trinity comprises three deities that represent the three aspects of the Supreme Being. These are Lord Brahma, the Creator; Lord Vishnu, the Preserver; and the Hindu God Shiva who is responsible for dissolution for the process of recreation.

Creation, it is believed, sustains itself by a delicate balance between good and evil. When this is disturbed, Lord Shiva dissolves the universe so as to create the next cycle. In this way, those who have not received salvation, are given another opportunity to do so. The Hindu God Shiva, then, protects these souls from the pain and suffering of a universe that is not balanced.

Lord Shiva is associated with several symbols.

These are:

  • The unclad body covered with ash
  • Matted locks
  • The Holy Ganges
  • The crescent moon
  • Three eyes
  • Half open eyes
  • Kundalas , or two earrings
  • Snakes
  • Rudraksha necklace
  • Cremation ground
  • Tiger skin
  • Nandi, the bull
  • Kamandalu , a water pot
  • Damaru , a drum
  • Trishul , a trident
  • Varda mudra (the Lord's hand is shown in the blessing pose)
  • Blue neck

The Hindu God Shiva is also represented by the lingham , which is the phallus. It symbolizes his creative force.

Handicrafts Trade
Suggested Reading