Hindu God Shiva



The Hindu Trinity comprises three deities that represent the three aspects of the Supreme Being. These are Lord Brahma, the Creator; Lord Vishnu, the Preserver; and the Hindu God Shiva who is responsible for dissolution for the process of recreation.

Creation, it is believed, sustains itself by a delicate balance between good and evil. When this is disturbed, Lord Shiva dissolves the universe so as to create the next cycle. In this way, those who have not received salvation, are given another opportunity to do so. The Hindu God Shiva, then, protects these souls from the pain and suffering of a universe that is not balanced.

Lord Shiva is associated with several symbols. These are:

  • The unclad body covered with ash
  • Matted locks
  • The Holy Ganges
  • The crescent moon
  • Three eyes
  • Half open eyes

  • Kundalas , or two earrings
  • Snakes
  • Rudraksha necklace
  • Cremation ground
  • Tiger skin
  • Nandi, the bull
  • Kamandalu , a water pot
  • Damaru , a drum
  • Trishul , a trident
  • Varda mudra (the Lord's hand is shown in the blessing pose)
  • Blue neck

The Hindu God Shiva is also represented by the lingham , which is the phallus. It symbolizes his creative force.

He is also shown in the form of Shiva Nataraja, engaged in a cosmic dance. It is believed that it is the energy from the dance that sustains the universe.

According to Hindu mythology, during the churning of the milk ocean, the Hindu God Shiva swallowed the poison that came up, to protect the cosmos. Thus, his neck turned blue.

Lord Shiva resides in the sacred mountain of Kailash, with his consort Parvati, and two sons Karttikeya and Ganesh. Lord Karttikeya is referred to as Murugan in South India, and is the God of war. Lord Ganesh or Ganapati is the God of wisdom and remover of Obstacles.

The Hindu God Shiva is the Lord of compassion. He protects his devotees from forces such as lust, avarice and anger, and awakens wisdom in them.

Handicrafts Trade
Suggested Reading