Buddhist Calendar



The Buddhist Calendar is a Lunisolar Calendar having alternate months of 29 and 30 days this lunisolar Calendar has extra seven months at every nineteen years and eleven extra days at every fifty seven years it is mainly used on mainland Southeast Asia in the countries like Cambodia, Laos, Thailand and Myanmar. All different forms of Buddhist Calendars are based on the original third century Surya Siddhanta.

Mainly there are four eras in a Buddhist Calendar these are:

  • Anchansakarat – from 10 march 691 BC
  • Buddhasakarat - Buddhist Era or BE, 11 march 545 BC
  • Mahasakarat- 17 March78
  • Chulasakarat- 22 March 638.

The seasons also played a great role in Buddhist indications of time we can find this evidence by its regular mention made in the canonical literature, particularly with the aim of indicating time of a particular season as winter, summer, autumn, rainy and dry season


The Thai Buddhist Calendar:

The Thai Buddhist Calendar is almost similar to Laotian and Cambodian calendar

Visakha Puja:

It is one of very auspicious days for Buddhists as on this day lord Buddha came on this earth became enlightened and died.

Megha Puja:

On this daysome1, 250 monks congregate to offer respect to lord Buddha. The Buddhists celebrate this day as Visakha Puja day.

Asalha Puja:

On this day Lord Buddha preached his sermons after being enlightened. The day is usually celebrated by attending a candle lit procession at night.

Handicrafts Trade
Suggested Reading